Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

香港中華煤氣有限公司

THE HONG KONG AND CHINA GAS COMPANY LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong under the Companies Ordinance with limited liability) (Stock Code: 3)

PASSING AWAY OF AN INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board is deeply saddened to learn and announce that Mr. Leung Hay Man, an independent non-executive director of the Company and a member of the Board Audit and Risk Committee of the Company, passed away on 11 October 2018.

The board of directors (the "Board") of The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited (the "Company") has been sadly informed by Mrs. Leung, the spouse of Mr. Leung Hay Man today that Mr. Leung, an independent non-executive director of the Company and a member of the Board Audit and Risk Committee of the Company, passed away on 11 October 2018.

Mr. Leung had been a director of the Company since 1981. He made valuable contributions to the Company during his long tenure of office. The Board expresses its heartfelt condolences to Mr. Leung's family.

Following the passing away of Mr. Leung, the Company has two independent non-executive directors and does not meet the requirements under Rules 3.10(1), 3.10A and 3.21 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"). The Board will seek to appoint a new independent non-executive director and a new member of the Board Audit and Risk Committee as soon as possible and uses its best endeavor to meet the time period set forth in Rules 3.11 and 3.23 of the Listing Rules.

By order of the Board JOHN H.M. HO Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 30 October 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises:

Non-executive Directors:	Dr. the Hon. Lee Shau Kee (Chairman), Dr. Colin Lam Ko Yin, Dr. Lee Ka Kit and Mr. Lee Ka Shing
Independent Non-executive Directors:	Dr. the Hon. Sir David Li Kwok Po and Professor Poon Chung Kwong
Executive Directors:	Mr. Alfred Chan Wing Kin and Mr. Peter Wong Wai Yee

