THE HONG KONG AND CHINA GAS COMPANY LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 3)

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – 19TH MAY 2008 POLL RESULTS

The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the poll results in respect of the resolutions proposed at the Annual General Meeting of the Company held on 19th May 2008 (the "AGM") as follows:

	ODDINA DV DECOLUZIONE	NO. OF VOTES (%)			
	ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS	FOR	AGAINST		
1.	To receive and consider the statement of accounts for the financial year ended 31st December 2007 and the reports of the Directors and Auditors thereon	3,637,171,974 (99.981599%)	669,402 (0.018401%)		
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.				
2.	To declare a final dividend	3,743,930,783 (99.996111%)	145,624 (0.003889%)		
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.				
3(I).	To re-elect Dr. The Hon. Lee Shau Kee as Director	3,279,587,091 (87.440931%)	471,044,391 (12.559069%)		
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.				
3(II).	To re-elect Mr. Liu Lit Man as Director	3,701,463,467 (98.633632%)	51,276,246 (1.366368%)		
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.				
3(III).	To re-elect Mr. Leung Hay Man as Director	3,314,671,566 (88.327280%)	438,043,978 (11.672720%)		
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.				
3(IV).	To re-elect Mr. James Kwan Yuk Choi as Director	3,698,349,254 (98.566778%)	53,776,288 (1.433222%)		
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.				

		NO. OF VOTES (%)		
	ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS		AGAINST	
4.	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as Auditors and to authorise the Directors to fix their remuneration	3,742,478,765 (99.981778%)	682,072 (0.018222%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(I).	To approve the issue of Bonus Shares	3,745,386,349 (99.910732%)	3,346,431 (0.089268%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(II).	To approve the renewal of the general mandate to the Directors for repurchase of Shares	3,743,234,900 (99.989622%)	388,495 (0.010378%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(III).	To approve the renewal of the general mandate to the Directors for the issue of additional Shares	2,861,299,883 (76.360483%)	885,795,182 (23.639517%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(IV).	To authorise the Board of Directors to allot, issue or otherwise deal with additional Shares equal to the number of Shares repurchased under Resolution 5(II)	3,033,000,911 (81.060811%)	708,635,614 (18.939189%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			

By Order of the Board RONALD T.H. CHAN

Executive Director and Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 19th May 2008

Notes:

- 1. The total number of shares entitling the holder to attend and vote for or against the resolutions at the AGM was 6,059,635,986 shares. None of these 6,059,635,986 shares were the shares entitling the holder to attend and vote only against the resolutions at the AGM.
- 2. Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the Company's share registrar, was appointed as the scrutineer for the AGM.
- 3. No party has stated its intention in the shareholders' circular of the Company dated 24th April 2008 that it would vote against any resolution or that it would abstain from voting at the AGM.

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises:

Non-executive Directors: Dr. The Hon. Lee Shau Kee (Chairman), Mr. Colin Lam Ko

Yin, Mr. Lee Ka Kit and Mr. Lee Ka Shing

Independent Non-executive Directors: Mr. Liu Lit Man, Mr. Leung Hay Man and Dr. The Hon.

David Li Kwok Po

Executive Directors: Mr. Ronald Chan Tat Hung, Mr. Alfred Chan Wing Kin and

Mr. James Kwan Yuk Choi

