Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

THE HONG KONG AND CHINA GAS COMPANY LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 3)

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – 5TH JUNE 2012 POLL RESULTS

The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the poll results in respect of the resolutions proposed at the Annual General Meeting of the Company held on 5th June 2012 (the "AGM") as follows:

	ODDINA DV. DEGOL LIELONG	NO. OF VOTES (%)		
	ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS	FOR	AGAINST	
1.	To receive and consider the audited accounts for the financial year ended 31st December 2011 and the reports of the Directors and Auditor thereon	5,163,307,005 (99.947047%)	2,735,575 (0.052953%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
2.	To declare a final dividend and a special dividend	5,167,375,815 (99.999501%)	25,785 (0.000499%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
3(I).	To re-elect Mr. Lee Ka Kit as Director	5,042,174,855 (97.586834%)	124,684,922 (2.413166%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
3(II).	To re-elect Mr. Lee Ka Shing as Director	4,408,924,937 (85.331155%)	757,915,840 (14.668845%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
3(III).	To re-elect Professor Poon Chung Kwong as Director	5,159,627,171 (99.860288%)	7,218,724 (0.139712%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			

	ODDINA DV DEGOL HELONG	NO. OF VOTES (%)		
	ORDINARY RESOLUTIONS	FOR	AGAINST	
3(IV).	To re-elect Mr. James Kwan Yuk Choi as Director	4,481,981,661 (86.815012%)	680,698,801 (13.184988%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
4.	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as Auditor and to authorise the Directors to fix its remuneration	5,156,977,200 (99.817564%)	9,425,395 (0.182436%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(I).	To approve the issue of Bonus Shares	5,167,144,756 (99.999061%)	48,500 (0.000939%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(II).	To approve the renewal of the general mandate to the Directors for repurchase of Shares	5,165,689,776 (99.995983%)	207,497 (0.004017%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(III).	To approve the renewal of the general mandate to the Directors for the issue of additional Shares	3,496,670,428 (67.675514%)	1,670,147,270 (32.324486%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			
5(IV).	To authorise the Directors to allot, issue or otherwise deal with additional Shares equal to the number of Shares repurchased under Resolution 5(II)	3,675,239,026 (71.137556%)	1,491,144,590 (28.862444%)	
	As more than 50% of the votes were cast in favour of the resolution, the resolution was carried.			

Notes:

- 1. The total number of shares entitling the holder to attend and vote for or against the resolutions at the AGM was 7,900,554,136 shares.
- 2. There was no share of the Company entitling the holders to attend and abstain from voting in favour at the AGM as set out in Rule 13.40 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") and no shareholder of the Company was required to abstain from voting at the AGM under the Listing Rules. There was no restriction on any shareholders to cast votes on any of the proposed resolutions at the AGM.

- 3. Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the Company's share registrar, was appointed as the scrutineer for the AGM.
- 4. No party has stated its intention in the shareholders' circular of the Company dated 26th April 2012 that it would vote against any resolution or that it would abstain from voting at the AGM.

By Order of the Board JOHN H.M. HO Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 5th June 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of the Company comprises:

Non-executive Directors: Dr. the Hon. Lee Shau Kee (Chairman), Mr. Colin

Lam Ko Yin, Mr. Lee Ka Kit and Mr. Lee Ka Shing

Independent Non-executive Directors: Mr. Leung Hay Man, Dr. the Hon. David Li Kwok Po

and Professor Poon Chung Kwong

Executive Directors: Mr. Alfred Chan Wing Kin and Mr. James Kwan Yuk

Choi

