Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.







(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 1083)

JOINT VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT

EXIT OF TOWNGAS SMART ENERGY COMPANY LIMITED FROM ITS INVESTMENT IN SHANGHAI GAS CO., LTD.*

References are made to the joint announcement issued by The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited ("HKCG") and Towngas Smart Energy Company Limited ("TSEL") on 23 May 2023 and the circular of TSEL dated 14 June 2023 (the "Circular") in relation to the exit of TSEL from its investment in Shanghai Gas Co., Ltd.*. Unless the context requires otherwise, capitalised terms used in this announcement have the same meanings as those defined in the Circular.

The board of directors of HKCG and the board of directors of TSEL are pleased to announce that the conditions precedent to payment of Consideration under the Capital Reduction Agreement had been fulfilled and the Consideration of approximately RMB4.66 billion had been received by TSEL on 2 August 2023.

By Order of the board of directors of

The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited

John Ho Hon-ming

Executive Director, Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 2 August 2023

By Order of the board of directors of **Towngas Smart Energy Company Limited John Ho Hon-ming**

Executive Director and Company Secretary

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of HKCG comprises:

Non-executive Directors: Dr. Lee Ka-kit (Chairman), Dr. Lee Ka-shing (Chairman),

Dr. Colin Lam Ko-yin and Mr. Andrew Fung Hau-chung

Independent Non-executive

Dr. the Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po, Prof. the Hon. Poon Chung-kwong

Directors:

and Dr. the Hon. Moses Cheng Mo-chi

Executive Directors: Mr. Peter Wong Wai-yee and Mr. John Ho Hon-ming

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors of TSEL comprises:

Non-executive Directors: Dr. Lee Ka-kit (Chairman) and Mr. Liu Kai Lap Kenneth

Independent Non-executive

Dr. the Hon. Moses Cheng Mo-chi, Mr. Brian David Li Man-bun,

Directors:

Mr. James Kwan Yuk-choi and Dr. Loh Kung Wai Christine

Executive Directors: Mr. Peter Wong Wai-yee (Chief Executive Officer),

Mr. John Ho Hon-ming (Company Secretary),

Mr. Martin Kee Wai-ngai (Chief Operating Officer – Gas Business) and Dr. John Qiu Jian-hang (Chief Operating Officer – Renewable Business)

^{*} For identification purposes only